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437-001-0744 Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks 

Unless otherwise indicated, the rule’s provisions take effect May 4, 2021, and remain in effect 

until revised or repealed. 

Note: Oregon OSHA’s temporary rule addressing COVID-19 in the workplace expires May 4, 2021, 

180 days after its adoption. Under the Oregon Administrative Procedures Act, a temporary rule 

cannot be renewed or extended beyond 180 days. Therefore, in order to extend protections for 

workers against COVID-19, which remains a significant concern, Oregon OSHA adopted this rule 

following the normal process for permanent rulemaking. However, the purpose of this rule is to 

address the COVID-19 pandemic in Oregon workplaces. Oregon OSHA will repeal the rule when it 

is no longer necessary to address that pandemic. Because it is not possible to assign a specific 

time for that decision, Oregon OSHA will consult with the Oregon OSHA Partnership Committee, 

the Oregon Health Authority, the two Infectious Disease Rulemaking Advisory Committees, and 

other stakeholders as circumstances change to determine when all or part of the rule can be 

appropriately repealed. The first of these discussions will take place no later than July 2021, and 

they will continue every two months until the rule has been repealed. In making determinations 

about when to repeal all or part of the rule, Oregon OSHA and its stakeholders will consider 

indicators and other information such as (but not limited to) Executive Orders issued by the 

Governor, guidance issued by the Oregon Health Authority and the Centers for Disease Control, 

infection rates (including the rate of spread of COVID-19 variants), test positivity rates, and 

vaccination rates, as well as indicators of severity such as hospitalizations and fatalities. 

(1) Scope and Application

(a) This rule applies to all employees working in places of employment subject to

Oregon OSHA’s jurisdiction and exposed to one or more other individuals

outside their household. For clarity and ease of reference, this rule refers to

“COVID-19” when describing exposures or potential exposures to SARS-CoV-

2, the virus that causes Coronavirus Disease 2019.

(b) The requirements of section (3) of this rule are applicable to all workplaces.
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(c) In addition to the requirements of section (3), the requirements of section (4) 

of this rule are applicable to all exceptional risk workplaces. For purposes of 

this rule, “workplaces at exceptional risk,” include any setting (whether a 

healthcare setting or not) where an employee (including temporary and part-

time employees) performs one or any combination of the following job 

duties:  

(A) Direct patient care;  

(B) Environmental decontamination services in a healthcare setting;  

(C) Aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedures; 

(D) Direct client service in residential care or assisted living facilities; 

(E) Emergency first responder activities;  

(F) Personal care activities that involve very close contact with an individual, 

such as toileting or bathing; or 

(G) Handling, packaging, cleaning, processing, or transporting human 

remains or human tissue specimens or laboratory cultures collected from 

an individual known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19. 

 Note: “Exceptional risk” does not include workers of other departments or job duties 

outside the scope and underlying definitions of (1)(c) of this rule. For example, 

employees in the accounting department at a hospital would be covered by the 

requirements applicable to all workplaces, while other workers at the same hospital who 

actually perform any of those job operations listed under (1)(c), such as direct patient 

care, would be subject to the supplementary requirements for workplaces at exceptional 

risk in addition to the requirements for all workplaces. 

(2) Definitions  

(a) Aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedure – means a 

medical, dental, or postmortem procedure on human patients or remains that 

is likely to result in exposure to small droplet nuclei in high concentration, 

presenting a risk for airborne transmission of COVID-19.  

(b) Common areas – means building lobbies, reception areas, waiting rooms, 

restrooms, break rooms, eating areas, smoking areas, locker rooms, bathing 

areas, transit lounges, conference rooms, or other locations indoors or 

outdoors that multiple individuals may use or congregate that employers 

operate or control. 
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(c) Decontamination of filtering facepiece respirators (FFR) – means a process 

approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) that reduces the 

number of pathogens, does not negatively affect the fit or filtration 

performance of the FFR, and presents no residual chemical hazard.  

(d) Direct patient care – means any employee job duties that include direct 

physical contact with a patient during the delivery of healthcare services. A 

worker performs direct patient care under the authority granted by a license 

or certification issued by federal, state, or local entities to provide healthcare 

services within the scope of practice. Workers may be providing direct patient 

care under their own licensure or certification, or may be providing care 

under the supervision of a licensed or certified worker. Workers involved in 

direct patient care include, but are not limited to, physicians, physician 

assistants, nurses, nurse practitioners, certified nursing aide, medical 

technologists, phlebotomists, respiratory therapists, dentists, dental 

hygienists, physical or occupational therapists, chiropractors, and other 

workers who otherwise provide in-person healthcare services. Direct patient 

care does not include customer service activities provided in retail settings 

that have embedded healthcare offices, such as retail pharmacies.  

(e) Emergency first responder activities – means those job duties that require 

an employee to be able to arrive first and provide assistance at the scene of 

an emergency, such as an accident, fire, or natural disaster. First responders 

include but are not limited to law enforcement officers, firefighters, 

emergency medical technicians, and paramedics. Emergency first responder 

activities under this rule do not include tasks where only first aid is provided 

in accordance with OAR 437-002-0161. 

(f) Employee – means any individual, including a minor whether lawfully or 

unlawfully employed, who engages to furnish services for a remuneration, 

financial or otherwise, subject to the direction and control of an employer; 

any salaried, elected and appointed official of the state, state agencies, 

counties, cities, school districts and other public corporations; and any 

individual who is provided with workers’ compensation coverage as a subject 

worker pursuant to ORS chapter 656, whether by operation of law or election. 
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(g) Employer – means any person who has one or more employees, any sole 

proprietor or member of a partnership who elects workers’ compensation 

coverage, or any corporation in relation to the exposure of its corporate 

officers except for corporations without workers’ compensation coverage 

under ORS 656.128 and whose only employee is the sole owner of the 

corporation, or any successor or assignee of an employer as described in 

OAR 437-001-0015.  

(h) Employment, Place of – has the meaning provided in OAR 437-001-0015 and 

excludes any place where the only employment involves workers not covered 

by workers’ compensation and employed in or around a private home, as well 

as any corporate farm where the only employment involves the farm’s family 

members. 

 Note: The employment of home care and home health care workers by a resident of the 

home in which they work is not subject to workers’ compensation (even though the 

employees receive such coverage through the Home Care Commission) and therefore their 

employment is not covered by Oregon OSHA. Such workers who are employed by private 

home health or in-home care agencies are subject to workers’ compensation and therefore 

their employment is covered by Oregon OSHA. Private homes, such as adult foster care 

homes, where the only employment is for the care and comfort of the residents are also not 

required to obtain workers’ compensation and are therefore not subject to Oregon OSHA 

unless the employer has opted to provide workers’ compensation coverage under ORS 

656.039. 

(i) Environmental decontamination services – means the work performed by 

janitorial, custodial, maintenance, or similar employees who are responsible 

for cleaning equipment, surfaces, or other items in direct patient care 

healthcare settings. This includes routine and non-routine cleaning or 

disinfecting of high-touch surfaces as defined by this rule, equipment, or 

procedural tools that are used in patient care areas in healthcare settings, 

including those settings in which aerosol-generating procedures are 

performed. 

(j) Face covering – means a cloth, polypropylene, paper or other covering that 

covers the nose and the mouth and that rests snugly above the nose, below 

the mouth, and on the sides of the face. Coverings that incorporate a valve 

that is designed to facilitate easy exhalation or mesh masks or other covers 

with openings, holes, visible gaps in the design or material, or vents are not 

appropriate face coverings because they allow droplets to be released from 

the covering. 
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(k) Face shield – means a transparent plastic shield that covers the wearer’s 

forehead, extends below the chin, and wraps around the sides of the face. 

Devices that place a shield in front of only the user’s nose and mouth do not 

meet the definition of a mask, face covering, or face shield. Face shields are 

normally used as protection for the face and eyes and their use as a means of 

“source control” should be discouraged when more suitable alternatives are 

available, but they remain a compliant (although not preferred) means of 

“source control” in relation to COVID-19. 

 Note: Oregon OSHA remains in ongoing discussions with the Oregon Health Authority about 

the suitability of face shields as a minimally compliant means of source control. If the 

agencies determine that the balance between practical considerations and the hazards 

presented by aerosol transmission (as well as any other factors) require a change in this 

approach, the Oregon Health Authority may choose to revise its current mandatory guidance. 

If so, Oregon OSHA will enforce that more restrictive option, notwithstanding the language of 

this rule. 

(l) Feasibility – refers to the ability of an employer to implement any 

requirement in a rule. Oregon OSHA rules never prohibit work. Whether 

feasibility is mentioned in a provision of the rule or not, if the employer can 

demonstrate that it is functionally impossible to comply or if doing so would 

prevent completion of the work, the employer need not comply, but must 

take any available reasonable alternative steps to protect the employees 

involved. 

(m) Filtering facepiece respirator – means a tight-fitting, negative pressure, 

particulate respirator, where the particulate filter is the facepiece itself. Such 

respirators are often referred to as “dust masks,” but dust masks that are not 

certified by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health are not 

respirators. The most common filtering facepiece respirators for general use 

are known as N-95 respirators. 

(n) Hand hygiene – means the cleaning, sanitizing, or disinfecting of one’s 

hands by using standard handwashing methods with soap and running water, 

antiseptic hand wash, antiseptic hand rub (alcohol-based hand sanitizer 

including foam or gel), or surgical hand antisepsis. 

(o) Healthcare setting – means any space at the workplace where a worker 

routinely provides direct patient care as defined by this rule or performs 

aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedures. A healthcare 

setting does not include any establishment where only personal support 

services are provided or places where direct patient care is provided to a 

patient outside the healthcare setting itself. 
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(p) High-touch surface – means equipment or surfaces that are handled 

frequently throughout the day by multiple individuals. High-touch surfaces 

can include, but are not limited to, countertops, tabletops, credit card 

terminals, doorknobs, door handles, digital kiosks, touch-screen enabled 

devices, light switches, handrails, elevator control panels, and steering 

wheels in work vehicles. 

(q) Individual – means any person who is present in the place of employment, 

whether an employee or not. 

(r) Mask – means a U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) cleared surgical, 

medical procedure, dental, or isolation mask (commonly referred to as a 

“surgical mask”). Masks are medical grade masks that function as a physical 

barrier to protect workers from hazards such as splashes of large droplets of 

blood or bodily fluids; they do not provide reliable protection to the wearer 

against aerosols or airborne pathogens. 

(s) Personal protective equipment (PPE) – means specialized clothing or 

equipment worn by a worker for protection against a hazard. General work 

clothing (for example, uniforms, pants, shirts or blouses) not intended to 

function as protection against a hazard for the user is not considered to be 

PPE. 

(t) Personal support services – means the work performed by a caretaker or 

similar employee who is responsible for assisting individuals with day-to-day 

living issues that are not direct patient care activities. Personal support 

services include, but are not limited to housekeeping, assisting with 

medication, personal transportation (such as taking a client to an 

appointment), and other day-to-day living activities that may occur in an 

individual’s private residence are not otherwise considered to be direct 

patient care under this rule. 

(u) Respirator – means a type of personal protective equipment that protects 

against respiratory hazards by removing specific air contaminants from the 

ambient (surrounding) air or by supplying breathable air from a safe source. 

Respirators that remove contaminants from the ambient air are called air-

purifying respirators. Respirators that supply air from a safe source other 

than the ambient air are called atmosphere-supplying respirators. Masks, face 

coverings, and face shields are not respirators. 

(v) SARS-CoV-2 – refers to a specific betacoronavirus (MERS-CoV and SARS-CoV 

are other betacoronaviruses) that causes what has been designated as 

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). 
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(w) Shared equipment – means devices or tools that are used by multiple 

employees or other individuals including, but not limited to, elevators, 

computers, phones, gym or personal fitness devices, escalators, and work 

vehicles. 

(x) Source control – means the use of protective equipment or other measures 

such as face coverings to prevent the spread of illness from a potentially 

infectious person to others. A typical example of source control for COVID-19 

is to use a mask or face covering to limit the spread of respiratory droplets 

and aerosols from the wearer to others. Respirators can be used as source 

control in addition to providing protection for the wearer. 

(y) Suspected to be infected with COVID-19 – means a person who has signs or 

symptoms of COVID-19 but has not tested positive for SARS-CoV-2 infection 

and no alternative diagnosis has been made consistent with Oregon Health 

Authority definitions. 

(3) COVID-19 Requirements for All Workplaces  

Except as otherwise provided by this rule, the following requirements apply to all 

workplaces. 

(a) Physical distancing. All employers must ensure that both work activities and 

workflow are designed to eliminate the need for any employee to be within 

six feet of another individual in order to fulfill their job duties unless the 

employer determines and can demonstrate that such physical distancing is 

not feasible for certain activities.  

(b) Mask, face covering, or face shield requirements. Each employer must ensure 

that all individuals (including employees, part-time workers, temporary 

laborers, customers, vendors, patrons, contractors, etc.) at the workplace or 

other premises subject to the employer’s control wear a mask, face covering, 

or face shield as source control. Consistent with that guidance, it is strongly 

recommended but not required, that individuals wear a mask or face covering 

as source control rather than relying upon a face shield alone. 

 Note: Oregon OSHA expects Oregon Health Authority mask, face covering, and face shield 

requirements to evolve as circumstances of the pandemic change (for example, as more 

Oregonians are vaccinated). Oregon OSHA will issue interpretive guidance or make changes 

to these rules as appropriate to provide employers with accurate and complete information 

about what is required.  

(A) In the absence of applicable Oregon Health Authority requirements (for 

example, in a correctional facility) employers must ensure that all 

individuals in the workplace wear a mask, face covering, or face shield:  
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(i) When working outside where the work requires employees to be 

within six feet of other individuals,  

(ii) When working inside where six feet of distance between employees 

and other individuals cannot be consistently maintained, or  

(iii) When an employee shares a room with one or more other individuals 

and the total enclosed area of the room does not provide at least 100 

square feet per person.  

(B) Masks, face coverings, or face shields are not required if the individual: 

(i) Is under 5 years of age (or is under 2 years of age and using public 

transportation or in transportation hubs), 

(ii) Is eating or drinking, 

(iii) Is engaged in an activity that makes wearing a mask, face covering or 

face shield not feasible, such as when taking a shower, 

(iv) Is sleeping, 

(v) Is in a room or vehicle shared only with members of the same 

household, or 

(vi) Is required to briefly remove their mask, face covering, or face shield 

because their identity needs to be confirmed by visual comparison, 

such as at the bank or if interacting with law enforcement. During 

such instances, individuals should limit speaking while the mask, face 

covering, or face shield is removed or displaced.  

 Note: While reasonable accommodation for those unable to wear a mask, face covering, 

or face shield due to a disability must be provided under applicable state law (ORS 

659A.103 to 659A.145) and federal law (42 U.S.C. Chapter 126), such an 

accommodation does not include simply exempting individuals from the requirement to 

wear masks, face coverings, or face shields in public spaces or places of employment. 

(C) The employer must provide masks, face coverings, or face shields for 

employees at no cost to the worker. If an employee chooses to wear their 

own mask, face shield, or face covering instead of those provided by the 

employer, the employer may allow it but is not required to do so.  

(D) When an employee chooses to wear a filtering facepiece respirator instead 

of a mask, face covering, or face shield, the employer must allow that use 

and follow the “voluntary use” provisions of the Respiratory Protection 

Standard (29 CFR 1910.134). 

https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2I.pdf#1910-134
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div2/div2I.pdf#1910-134
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 Note: An employer is not obligated to provide filtering facepiece respirators to 

employees under this section, nor are employers required to provide or allow any other 

type of respirator, unless required by another part of this rule. 

(E) If an employee chooses to wear a mask, face shield, or face covering even 

when it is not required, the employer must allow them to do so. 

(F) Effective June 3, 2021, when employees are transported in a vehicle for 

work purposes, regardless of the travel distance or duration involved, 

employers must use the hierarchy of hazard controls to minimize 

employee exposures by either: 

(i) Considering, to the degree practical, eliminating the need for 

employees to share work vehicles and arranging for alternative means 

for employees to travel to work sites; or  

(ii) When employees share work vehicles, employers must ensure the 

following measures are taken:  

(I) When more than one person is in a vehicle, all occupants in the 

vehicle must wear a mask, face covering, or face shield unless all 

employees are wearing respirators in accordance with the 

Respiratory Protection Standard (29 CFR 1910.134); 

(II) Outside air must be increased (for example, by opening windows 

when weather conditions permit, by not recirculating cabin air, 

etc.); and  

(III) The separation of individuals in the vehicle must be maximized to 

the degree possible (for example, by the use of occupancy limits, 

by seating occupants in alternate seats, etc.).  

 Note: The requirements of (3)(b)(F) do not apply when all occupants within the vehicle 

are members of the same family or household. 

(c) Cleaning and sanitation. The employer must regularly clean or sanitize all 

common areas, shared equipment, and high-touch surfaces as defined by this 

rule that are under its control and that are used by employees or the public. 

In the absence of other cleaning requirements applicable to the location, such 

cleaning must occur at least once every 24 hours when the area, equipment, 

or surface in question is in use. 

 Exception: In locations with only “drop-in” availability or minimal staffing, the 

employer is permitted to rely upon a regular schedule of cleaning and 

sanitation and directing employees to sanitize their own work surfaces before 

use.  
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(A) Employers must provide employees with the supplies (such as soap and 

water) and the reasonable time necessary to clean or sanitize more 

frequently than would otherwise be required if the worker chooses to do 

so. 

(B) Employers must provide employees with the supplies (such as soap and 

water) and reasonable time necessary to perform hand hygiene before 

using shared equipment. 

(C) Except in healthcare settings where patients known or suspected to be 

infected with COVID-19 are being treated, employers must clean and 

disinfect any common areas, high-touch-surfaces, and any shared 

equipment under the employer’s control that an individual known to be 

infected with COVID-19 used or had direct physical contact with. If the 

employer learns of the exposure between 24 and 72 hours after the 

individual was last present in the space, only cleaning is required, not 

sanitation. If the employer learns of the exposure more than 72 hours 

after the individual was last present in the space, no exceptional cleaning 

or sanitation is required.  

 Note: It is recommended that the area be closed off and a waiting period of at least 

several hours (or as long as is feasible) be followed prior to cleaning and disinfecting.  

 Note: Additional sanitation requirements for exceptional risk workplaces are included in 

subsection (4)(d) of this rule. 

(d) Posting requirements. The “COVID-19 Hazards Poster,” provided by Oregon 

OSHA must be posted in a conspicuous manner in a central location where 

workers can be expected to see it (for example, a location where employees 

report each day or at a location from which employees operate to carry out 

their activities). Employees working remotely must be provided with a copy of 

the COVID-19 Hazards Poster through electronic or equally effective means. 

(e) Building operators. Those employers who operate or otherwise control 

buildings where the employees of other employers work must take the 

following steps in common areas to the extent that they have control over 

such areas: 

(A) Ensure that the sanitation requirements under (3)(c) are met; and  

(B) Post signs in areas where masks, face coverings, or face shields are 

required. To meet this provision, the building operator may post a copy of 

the “Masks Required,” sign developed by the Oregon Health Authority.  

https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/5504.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2728.pdf
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(f) Routine ventilation maintenance and evaluation.  

The employer must optimize the amount of outside air circulated through its 

existing heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system(s), to the 

extent the system(s) can do so when operating as designed and maintaining 

healthy indoor temperatures, whenever there are employees in the workplace 

and the outdoor air quality index remains at either “good” or “moderate” 

levels.  

 Note: This does not require installation of new ventilation equipment.  

 Note: While not required, ventilation systems that are installed and maintained in accordance 

with the provisions of the American National Standards (ANSI)/American Society of Heating, 

Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Standards 62.1 and 62.2 (ASHRAE 

2019a, 2019b) meet this requirement.  

(A) By June 3, 2021, all employers with more than 10 employees statewide 

and an existing HVAC system must certify in writing that they are 

operating that system in accordance with the rule, to the best of their 

knowledge. Although not required, such certifications can be made using 

the sample format provided by Oregon OSHA. 

(i) The certification must be dated and must include the name of the 

individual making the certification; and  

(ii) Such certification records must be maintained as long as this rule is in 

effect. 

(B) On a quarterly basis beginning no later than June 3, 2021, all employers 

must ensure the following:  

(i) All air filters are maintained and replaced as necessary to ensure the 

proper function of the ventilation system; and 

(ii) All intake ports that provide outside air to the HVAC system are 

cleaned, maintained, and cleared of any debris that may affect the 

function and performance of the ventilation system.  

(g) Exposure risk assessment. All employers must conduct a COVID-19 exposure 

risk assessment, without regard to the use of personal protective equipment, 

masks, face coverings, or face shields. A risk assessment conducted in 

compliance with the Oregon OSHA temporary COVID-19 rule adopted 

November 6, 2020, satisfies this requirement and need not be repeated. If an 

employer has multiple facilities that are substantially similar, the assessment 

may be developed by facility type rather than site-by-site so long as any site-

specific information that affects employee exposure risk to COVID-19 is 

included in the assessment.  
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(A) The exposure risk assessment must involve participation and feedback 

from employees. This feedback may be achieved via a safety meeting, 

safety committee, supervisor, process negotiated with the exclusive 

bargaining agent (if any), or any other similarly interactive process. 

(B) Each employer with more than ten employees statewide (including 

temporary and part-time workers) or that is covered by (1)(c) of this rule 

(workplaces at exceptional risk) must record their COVID-19 exposure risk 

assessment in writing by documenting the following information: 

(i) The name(s), job title(s), and contact information of the person(s) who 

performed the exposure risk assessment; 

(ii) The date the exposure risk assessment was completed; 

(iii) The employee job classifications that were evaluated; and  

(iv) A summary of the employer’s answers to each of the applicable 

exposure risk assessment questions in this subsection.  

(C) The risk assessment must address the following questions related to 

potential employee exposure to COVID-19 in the workplace: 

(i) Can employees telework or otherwise work remotely? How are 

employees encouraged or empowered to use those distance work 

options to reduce COVID-19 transmission at the workplace?  

(ii) What are the anticipated working distances between employees? How 

might those physical working distances change during non-routine 

work activities? 

(iii) What is the anticipated working distance between employees and 

other individuals? How might those working distances change during 

non-routine work activities? 

(iv) How have the workplace or employee job duties, or both, been 

modified to provide at least 6-feet of physical distancing between all 

individuals? 

(v) How are employees and other individuals at the workplace notified 

where and when masks, face coverings, or face shields are required? 

How is this policy enforced and clearly communicated to employees 

and other individuals? 
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(vi) How have employees been informed about the workplace policy and 

procedures related to reporting COVID-19 symptoms? How might 

employees who are identified for quarantine or isolation as a result of 

medical removal under this rule be provided with an opportunity to 

work at home, if such work is available and they are well enough to do 

so? 

(vii) How have engineering controls such as ventilation (whether portable 

air filtration units equipped with HEPA filters, airborne infection 

isolation rooms, local exhaust ventilation, or general building HVAC 

systems) and physical barriers been used to minimize employee 

exposure to COVID-19? 

(viii) How have administrative controls (such as foot-traffic control) been 

used to minimize employee exposure to COVID-19? 

(ix) What is the procedure or policy for employees to report workplace 

hazards related to COVID-19? How are these hazard reporting 

procedures or policies communicated to employees? 

(x) How are sanitation measures related to COVID-19 implemented in the 

workplace? How have these sanitation practices been explained to 

employees and other individuals at the workplace?  

(xi) How have the industry-specific or activity-specific COVID-19 

requirements in Appendix A of this rule and applicable guidance from 

the Oregon Health Authority been implemented for workers? How will 

periodic updates to such Oregon Health Authority guidance 

documents incorporated into the workplace on an on-going basis?  

(xii) In settings where the workers of multiple employers work in the same 

space or share equipment or common areas, how are the physical 

distancing; mask, face covering, or face shield requirements; and 

sanitation measures required under this rule communicated to and 

coordinated between all employers and their affected employees? 

(xiii) How can the employer implement appropriate controls that provide 

layered protection from COVID-19 hazards and that minimize, to the 

degree possible, reliance on individual employee training and behavior 

for their efficacy? 

 Note: Oregon OSHA has made a Risk Assessment template and sample Risk 

Assessments available to assist employers in completing this task.  

https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/pubform/exposure-risk-assessment-form.docx
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(h) Infection control plan. All employers must establish and implement an 

infection control plan based on the risks identified in subsection (3)(g) that 

implements the controls identified in (3)(g)(C)(xiii) including, but not limited 

to, ventilation, staggered shifts, redesigning the workplace to accommodate 

physical distancing, reducing use of shared surfaces and tools, limiting the 

number of employees and other individuals in work areas, personal 

protective equipment, etc. An infection control plan developed in compliance 

with the Oregon OSHA temporary COVID-19 rule adopted November 6, 2020, 

satisfies this requirement and need not be repeated. If an employer has 

multiple facilities that are substantially similar, its infection control plan may 

be developed by facility type rather than site-by-site so long as any site-

specific information that affects employee exposure risk to COVID-19 is 

included in the plan. Employers may also rely upon materials developed by 

associations, licensing agencies, and franchisors to assist with compliance 

and provided that mechanisms for appropriate employee feedback and 

involvement are provided. 

(A) Each employer with more than ten employees statewide (including 

temporary and part-time workers) and every employer, regardless of size, 

that is covered by (1)(c) of this rule (workplaces at exceptional risk) must 

document their infection control plan in writing and must ensure that a 

copy is accessible to employees at their workplace.  

 Note: Additional requirements related to the infection control plan, which are applicable 

only to those employers covered by (1)(c) of this rule (workplaces at exceptional risk), 

are contained in section (4)(c) of this rule.  

(B) The infection control plan must contain, at a minimum, the following 

elements: 

(i) A list of all job assignments or worker tasks requiring the use of 

personal protective equipment (including respirators) necessary to 

minimize employee exposure to COVID-19;  

(ii) The procedures the employer will use to ensure that there is an 

adequate supply of masks, face coverings, or face shields and 

personal protective equipment (including respirators) necessary to 

minimize employee exposure to COVID-19; 

(iii) A list and description of the specific hazard control measures that the 

employer installed, implemented, or developed to minimize employee 

exposure to COVID-19; 
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(iv) A description of the employer’s COVID-19 mask, face covering, and 

face shield requirements at the workplace, and the method of 

informing individuals entering the workplace where such source 

control is required; 

(v) The procedures the employer will use to communicate with its 

employees and other employers in multi-employer worksites regarding 

an employee’s exposure to an individual known or suspected to be 

infected with COVID-19 to whom other workers may have been 

exposed. This includes the communication to individuals identified 

through COVID-19 contact tracing and general communication to the 

workplace at large; and 

(vi) The procedures the employer will use to provide its workers with the 

initial employee information and training required by this rule. 

 Note: Oregon OSHA has made sample Infection Control Plans available to assist 

employers in completing this task.  

(i) Employee information and training. All employers must provide workers with 

information and training regarding COVID-19. Infection control training 

conducted in compliance with the Oregon OSHA temporary COVID-19 rule 

adopted November 6, 2020, satisfies this requirement and need not be 

repeated. This information and training can be provided remotely or using 

computer-based models but must be provided in a manner and language 

understood by the affected workers. Employers must ensure that the training 

provides an opportunity for feedback from employees about the topics 

covered in the training, which must include at least the following elements: 

(A) Physical distancing requirements as they apply to the employee’s 

workplace and job function(s); 

(B) Mask, face covering, or face shield requirements as they apply to the 

employee’s workplace and job function(s); 

(C) COVID-19 sanitation requirements as they apply to the employee’s 

workplace and job function(s); 

(D) COVID-19 signs and symptom reporting procedures that apply to the 

employee’s workplace;  

(E) COVID-19 infection notification process as required by this rule;  

(F) Medical removal as required by this rule; 

(G) The characteristics and methods of transmission of the SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHAPubs/pubform/infection-control-plan.docx
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 Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete this 

portion of the training. 

(H) The symptoms of the COVID-19 disease; 

 Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete this 

portion of the training. 

(I) The ability of pre-symptomatic and asymptomatic COVID-19 persons to 

transmit the SARS-CoV-2 virus; and 

 Note: Oregon OSHA has provide training materials that can be used to complete this 

portion of the training. 

(J) Safe and healthy work practices and control measures, including but not 

limited to, physical distancing, sanitation and disinfection practices. 

 Note: Oregon OSHA has provided training materials that can be used to complete this 

portion of the training. 

(j) COVID-19 infection notification process. The employer must establish and 

implement a process to notify exposed employees (those who were within six 

feet of a confirmed COVID-19 individual for a cumulative total of 15 minutes 

or more, regardless of whether one or both of them were wearing source 

control) that they had a work-related contact with an individual who has 

tested positive for COVID-19, as well as to notify affected employees (those 

who worked in the same facility or in the same well-defined portion of the 

facility such as a particular floor) that an individual who was present in the 

facility has confirmed COVID-19.  This notification process must include the 

following elements:  

(A) A mechanism for notifying both exposed and affected employees within 

24 hours of the employer being made aware that an individual with 

COVID-19 was present in the workplace while infectious or otherwise may 

have had work-related contact with its employee(s) while infectious; and 

(B) This notification process must be established and implemented in 

accordance with all applicable federal and Oregon laws and regulations. 

 Note: Employers can satisfy this requirement by adopting the model procedure 

published by Oregon OSHA. 

 Note: The reporting of COVID-19 cases is required under existing Oregon Health 

Authority rules regarding reporting of disease cases. OAR 333-018-0016 requires such 

cases to be reported by healthcare providers and laboratories within 24 hours of 

identification.  

 Note: Whenever an exposure notification as described by this rule is provided in writing, 

the notification may be subject to the existing requirements of Oregon OSHA’s Access to 

Employee Exposure and Medical Records standard (29 CFR 1910. 1020). 

https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/courses/Pages/COVID-19-training-requirements.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/courses/Pages/COVID-19-training-requirements.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/courses/Pages/COVID-19-training-requirements.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/edu/courses/Pages/COVID-19-training-requirements.aspx
https://osha.oregon.gov/Documents/Model-COVID-19-Notification-Policy.docx
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(k) COVID-19 testing for workers. The employer must cooperate by making its 

employees and appropriate space available at no cost to the workers 

whenever a local public health agency or Oregon Health Authority indicate 

that COVID-19 diagnostic testing within the workplace is necessary. If such 

testing is conducted at the employer’s own direction, the employer is 

responsible for covering the costs of testing including but not limited to the 

COVID-19 test itself, employee time, and employee travel. However, if the 

employer is not requesting the test, the employer is not expected to cover 

the direct cost of such testing or of any involved employee travel. 

(l) Medical removal. Whenever the Oregon Health Authority, local public health 

agency, or medical provider recommends an employee be restricted from 

work due to quarantine or isolation for COVID-19, such as through 

identification during contact tracing activities, the affected worker(s) must be 

directed to isolate at home and away from other non-quarantined individuals.  

 Note: Other than the obligation to provide such direction and to remove such employees 

from the workplace, the employer has no obligation to enforce the employee’s quarantine or 

isolation. 

(A) Whenever an employee participates in quarantine or isolation for COVID-

19, the employer must allow the affected employee(s) to work at home if 

suitable work is available and the employee’s condition does not prevent 

it. 

(B) Whenever an employee participates in quarantine or isolation, whether as 

a result of the requirements of this rule or because the employer chooses 

to take additional precautions, the affected worker(s) must be notified 

that they are entitled to return to their previous job duties if still available 

without any adverse action as a result of participation in COVID-19 

quarantine or isolation activities. Effective June 3, 2021, the employee 

must be advised in writing of the right to return as described and should 

be provided any relevant information about the employer’s paid time off, 

sick leave, or any other available benefits in accordance with local, state, 

or federal law. 

 Note: The prohibition on “adverse action” does not require the employer to keep a job 

available that would not otherwise have been available had the employee not been 

quarantined or isolated, but it does mean that the employer cannot fill the job with 

another employee and thereby make it unavailable.  
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(C) Decisions regarding testing and return to work after an employee 

participates in COVID-19 quarantine or isolation activities must be made 

in accordance with applicable public health guidance and must be 

otherwise consistent with guidance from the employee’s medical 

provider.  

 Note: This provision does not require a negative COVID-19 test or a separate contact 

with the medical provider. 

 Note: Employees are protected from discrimination or retaliation under ORS 654.062(5). 

This includes protections for actions against employees for opposing any practice 

forbidden under the Oregon Safe Employment Act and related statutes and rules 

(including this rule for COVID-19), making a complaint or causing any proceeding to be 

instituted under the Oregon Safe Employment Act, or exercising any rights under the 

law, including those conferred by this Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 

437-001-0744). 

 Note: Notwithstanding the language of OAR 437-001-0700(10), employers do not need 

to record such “medical removal” cases on their OSHA 300 log(s) simply because the 

medical removal required by this rule occurred. Cases must be recorded only if the 

infection of a worker is determined to be “work-related” in accordance with OAR 437-

001-0700. 

(m) Mandatory appendices. Employers covered by one or more of the mandatory 

industry-specific and activity-specific appendices that make up Appendix A of 

this rule must comply with those appendices. To the degree an appendix 

provides specific guidance regarding an issue addressed by this rule, it 

supersedes the general requirements of this rule. To the degree a situation is 

not addressed by the specific language of an appendix, the requirements of 

this rule apply as written.  

Appendix A contains the following: 

A-1: Restaurants, Bars, Brewpubs and Public Tasting Rooms at Breweries, 

Wineries and Distilleries  

A-2: Retail Stores 

A-3: Personal Services Providers 

A-4: Construction Operations 

A-5: Transit Agencies 

A-6: Professional, Division 1, Pac-12, West Coast Conference and Big Sky 

Conference Sports   

A-7: Employers Operating Fitness-Related Organizations  

A-8: K-12 Educational Institutions (Public or Private) 

https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div1/div1.pdf#d0700
https://osha.oregon.gov/OSHARules/div1/div1.pdf#d0700


 

 

General Administration 1 

Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division Oregon Administrative Rules AO 2-2021 Division 1 

437-001-0744 (3)(m) Div. 1 - Page 19 437-001-0744 (4)(b)(C) 

A-9: Employers Operating Child Care and Early Education Programs  

A-10: Veterinary Clinics 

A-11: Emergency Medical Services: First Responders, Firefighters, Emergency 

Medical Services and Non-Emergency Medical Transport   

A-12: Law Enforcement Activities 

A-13: Jails, Prisons, and Other Custodial Institutions 

(4) COVID-19 Requirements for Workplaces at Exceptional Risk. 

Workplaces identified by subsection (1)(c) of this rule must adhere to the following 

specific provisions and additional requirements.  

(a) Infection control training. In addition to the employee information and 

training requirements for all workplaces under subsection (3)(i) of this rule, 

employers of workplaces at exceptional risk must provide infection control 

training that includes the following provisions: 

(A) The training is overseen or conducted by a person knowledgeable in the 

covered subject matter as it relates to the employee’s job duties;  

(B) The training material is appropriate in content and vocabulary to the 

education, literacy, and language of the affected workers; and 

(C) The training provides an opportunity for interactive questions and 

answers (must be “live” in order to allow immediate response and further 

clarification but need not be in person) with a person knowledgeable in 

the training program’s subject matter and basic epidemiology as it relates 

to the workplace and employee job duties. 

(b) Infection control training for employees required under this rule must include 

the following elements: 

(A) An explanation of this rule and its applicable appendices and provisions;  

(B) An explanation of contact, droplet, and airborne modes of transmission 

of COVID-19, including how workers can recognize hazardous work 

activities that may involve exposure to COVID-19 and how employees can 

take precautionary measures to minimize their exposure; 

(C) An explanation of the basic risk factors associated with COVID-19 

transmission including, but not limited to, behavioral risk factors (this 

may include non-work activities that are higher-risk activities such as 

attending large social gatherings); physiological risk factors; demographic 

risk factors; and environmental risk factors; 
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(D) An explanation of the employer’s COVID-19 exposure risk assessment 

required by this rule and which employee job classifications, tasks, or job 

duties were considered as part of that risk assessment;  

(E) An explanation of the employer’s physical distancing; mask, face 

covering, and face shield requirements; and COVID-19 sanitation 

requirements at the workplace. Where applicable, this information must 

include any multi-employer worksite agreements related to the use of 

common areas and shared equipment that affect employees at the 

workplace;  

(F) Information on the types, use, storage, removal, handling, and 

maintenance of masks, face coverings, face shields and personal 

protective equipment (including respirators) provided to employees by the 

employer; and 

(G) An explanation of the use and limitation of COVID-19 hazard control 

measures implemented or installed by the employer. Hazard control 

measures include engineering, administrative, or work practice controls 

that eliminate or otherwise minimize employee exposure to COVID-19.  

(c) Additional infection control plan requirements. In addition to the infection 

control plan requirements for all workplaces, each employer covered by 

section (4) of this rule must provide the following in its infection control plan: 

(A) The name(s) of the person responsible for administering the plan. This 

person must be knowledgeable in infection control principles and 

practices as they apply to the workplace and employee job operations; 

and 

(B) The plan must be reevaluated as frequently as necessary to reflect 

changes in the facility, employee job duties, new technologies, or 

workplace policies established by the employer that affect worker 

exposure to COVID-19 or in response to updated guidance published by 

the Oregon Health Authority (including increases in COVID-19 community 

spread) that is applicable to the employer’s workplace. This reevaluation 

and update of the infection plan must include feedback from non-

managerial, front-line employees who perform activities that reflect the 

employer’s exceptional risk under this rule. This feedback is not required 

from all employees and may be achieved via a safety meeting, safety 

committee, supervisor, process negotiated with the exclusive bargaining 

agent (if any), or any other similarly interactive process.  



 

 

General Administration 1 

Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division Oregon Administrative Rules AO 2-2021 Division 1 

437-001-0744 (4)(c)(C) Div. 1 - Page 21 437-001-0744 (4)(e)(A) 

(C) Effective June 3, 2021, health care employers must develop and 

implement a written personal protective equipment (PPE) supply and crisis 

management plan in accordance with Oregon Health Authority and 

Oregon OSHA Interim Guidance: Use of Personal Protective Equipment by 

Healthcare Personnel in Resource Constrained Settings. .  

(d) Additional sanitation requirements. Use appropriate sanitation measures in 

addition to the requirements of (3)(c) of this rule to reduce the risk of COVID-

19 transmission. Each employer must: 

(A) Develop and implement procedures for routine cleaning and disinfection 

that are appropriate for SARS-CoV-2 in healthcare settings, including 

those patient-care areas in which aerosol-generating procedures are 

performed (for example, using cleaners and EPA-registered, hospital-

grade disinfectants for frequently touched surfaces or objects in 

accordance with manufacturer instructions and contact time 

specifications). Refer to List N on the EPA website for EPA-registered 

disinfectants that have qualified under EPA's emerging viral pathogens 

program for use against SARS-CoV-2; and 

(B) Follow standard practices for disinfection and sterilization of medical 

devices contaminated with COVID-19, as described in the CDC Guideline 

for Disinfection and Sterilization in Healthcare Facilities, 2008. 

(e) Healthcare personal protective equipment. Depending on the requirements of 

the procedure (for example, aerosol generating procedures) in question and 

the disease status of the involved patient(s), employers must use a 

combination of standard precautions, contact precautions, droplet 

precautions, airborne precautions, and eye protection (for examples, goggles, 

face shields) to protect healthcare workers with exposure or potential 

exposure to COVID-19. 

(A) When an employee performs an aerosol-generating healthcare or post-

mortem procedure for a patient without evidence of COVID-19 infection,  

the employer must provide PPE in accordance with CDC’s Interim Infection 

Prevention and Control Recommendations for Healthcare Personnel 

During the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Pandemic. Oregon 

OSHA recognizes that risk of infection in asymptomatic patients can vary 

based on clinical presentation, level of COVID-19 transmission in the 

community, recent COVID-19 testing results, and other factors. These 

factors must be considered in clinical judgment by healthcare personnel 

involved in direct patient care and medical examiners in making decisions 

about use of transmission-based precautions.  

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288t.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288t.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288t.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288t.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288t.pdf
https://www.epa.gov/pesticide-registration/list-n-disinfectants-coronavirus-covid-19
https://www.cdc.gov/infectioncontrol/guidelines/
https://www.cdc.gov/infectioncontrol/guidelines/
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/infection-control-recommendations.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/infection-control-recommendations.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/infection-control-recommendations.html
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(B) Effective May 17, 2021, whenever an employee provides direct patient 

care for a patient known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19, the 

employer must provide the affected worker with gloves, a gown, eye 

protection (goggles or face shield), and either a NIOSH-approved 

respirator or a respirator with a current emergency use authorization by 

the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA). If the employer 

can demonstrate that the availability of respirators is genuinely limited, 

the employer must ensure that a medical-grade mask is used in place of 

the respirator.  

 Note: If PPE availability is genuinely limited, a procedure cannot be deferred, and 

appropriate, good-faith efforts are made by the employer to ensure the safety and 

protection of the healthcare workers, Oregon OSHA will evaluate the situation based on 

PPE availability and the employer’s adherence to guidance outlined in the Oregon Health 

Authority and Oregon OSHA Interim Guidance: Use of Personal Protective Equipment by 

Healthcare Personnel in Resource Constrained Settings. 

(C) In lieu of (A) and (B) above, and if PPE availability is limited, such 

employers may follow Oregon Health Authority-Oregon OSHA Interim 

Guidance: Use of Personal Protective Equipment by Healthcare Personnel 

in Resource Constrained Settings. 

 Note: The CDC does not have a comprehensive list of AGPs in a healthcare setting. 

Employers should refer to Clinical Care, and Healthcare Infection Prevention and Control 

Guidance for COVID-19. 

(f) Heightened risk ventilation requirements.  In addition to the ventilation 

provisions of subsection (3)(f) above (including any applicable certification 

provisions), certain heightened risk facilities must meet the following 

requirements to the degree that they are under the employer’s control: 

(A) Existing ventilation systems in hospitals, ambulatory surgical centers, and 

long-term care facilities that provide skilled or intermediate level nursing 

care must be operated, when possible, in accordance with local building 

codes and applicable provisions of the American National Standards 

Institute (ANSI)/American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-

Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Standards 62.1 and 62.2 (ASHRAE 

2019a, 2019b), which include requirements for outdoor air ventilation in 

most residential and nonresidential spaces, and ANSI/ASHRAE/ASHE 

Standard 170 (ASHRAE 2017a) covers both outdoor and total air 

ventilation in healthcare facilities.  

 Note: This does not require installation of new ventilation equipment. 

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288t.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288t.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288t.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288t.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288t.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2288t.pdf
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(B) Existing ventilation systems in other healthcare facilities must be 

upgraded to a minimum MERV 13 rating, provided that such an upgrade 

will result in no significant performance reduction of the system. 

 Note: This does not require installation of new ventilation equipment. 

(g) Barriers, partitions, and airborne infection isolation rooms in healthcare 

settings. The employer must employ the following measures to protect 

healthcare employees, support workers, patients, and visitors from 

individuals known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19:  

(A) When available, use airborne infection isolation rooms (AIIRs) with proper 

ventilation to house patients known or suspected to be infected with 

COVID-19; 

(B) Patients known or suspected of being infected with COVID-19 must don a 

face covering and be isolated in an examination room with the door 

closed. If an examination room is not immediately available, such patients 

must not be allowed to wait within 6 feet of other patients seeking care 

and should be encouraged to wait in a personal vehicle or outside the 

healthcare setting where they can be contacted by mobile device when it 

is their turn to be evaluated. During a medical emergency, all measures 

may not be feasible, but must be implemented in whole or in part as the 

patient’s condition and necessary medical care allow. If a patient cannot 

tolerate any form of face covering due to a medical condition, strict 

physical distancing and appropriate PPE must be used to protect patients 

and workers, respectively;  

(C) Use physical barriers or partitions in triage areas to guide patients when 

appropriate; and 

(D) Use curtains to separate patients in semi-private areas.  

(h) Screening in healthcare settings. The employer must screen and triage all 

individuals entering its healthcare setting for symptoms of COVID-19. 

Although screening for symptoms may not identify asymptomatic or pre-

symptomatic individuals with SARS-CoV-2 infection, symptom screening 

remains an important strategy to identify those who may have COVID-19 so 

appropriate precautions can be implemented. At a minimum, each employer 

must: 
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(A) Limit and monitor points of entry to the healthcare setting where direct

patient care, or aerosol-generating healthcare or postmortem procedures

are performed by workers. Consideration must be given to establishing

stations at the healthcare setting entrance to screen individuals before they

enter;

(B) Screen all individuals and employees (other than emergency responders

entering with a patient) entering the healthcare setting for symptoms

consistent with COVID-19. This can be achieved by asking the affected

individual about symptoms of COVID-19 and asking if they have been

advised to self-quarantine because of exposure to someone with COVID-19

or if they have been told to isolate after testing positive for COVID-19; and

(C) Develop a triage and screening protocol that isolates patients known or

suspected to be infected with COVID-19 from other non-COVID-19 patients;

procedures for transporting patients known or suspected to be infected

with COVID-19 within the facility and between facilities as applicable;

implementation of temporary air infection isolation rooms (AIIRs) as

available.

(i) Exposure notification process in certain healthcare settings. The only

exceptions to the notification requirements of subsection (3)(j) are in

healthcare settings where patients are hospitalized on the basis that they are

known or suspected to be infected with COVID-19 and in healthcare settings

where contact tracing has become infeasible, based upon guidance from the

Oregon Health Authority and the Centers for Disease Control regarding such

scenarios and the implementation of universal PPE recommendations

addressing both identified and unidentified risks.

Note: The term “settings where patients are hospitalized on the basis that they are known or 

suspected to be infected,” is intended to be narrowly construed and applies only to those 

situations where patients are receiving health services primarily related to COVID-19 and where 

all workers are aware of that potential exposure.  For example, patient care related to labor and 

delivery in a hospital that is also caring for COVID-19 patients is not subject to this exclusion.  

(j) Medical removal provisions in healthcare settings. The only exception to the

quarantine and isolation provisions of subsection (3)(l) exists when a healthcare

provider, emergency responder, or other worker who would otherwise be

quarantined or isolated remains on the job under Oregon Health Authority

guidelines.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 654.025(2), ORS 652.035 and 656.726(4). 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 654.001 to 654.295. 

Hist: OR OSHA Admin. Order 3-2020, f. 11/6/20, ef. 11/16/20 

OR OSHA Admin. Order 4-2020, f. 12/11/20, ef. 12/11/20. 

OR OSHA Admin. Order 2-2021, f. 5/4/21, ef. 5/4/21. 
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Appendix A-1: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for Restaurants, Bars, Brewpubs, 

and Public Tasting Rooms at Breweries, Wineries, and Distilleries 

Application: This appendix applies to restaurants, bars, breweries, brewpubs, 

wineries, tasting rooms and distilleries. To the degree this appendix provides 

specific guidance, it supplements, but does not replace, the requirements of the 

Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744). 

 Note: This appendix is consistent with existing Oregon Health Authority statewide guidance as it 

relates to the protection of workers in such establishments. However, Oregon Health Authority 

guidance may also contain public health provisions that are not reflected by this document. 

Employers engaged in such activity need to be aware of and comply with those public health 

requirements as well as with this appendix.  

A. Physical Distancing Measures. In addition to ensuring that workers can 

maintain appropriate physical distancing, as described in OAR 437-001-

0744(3)(a), employers operating such facilities must abide by any applicable 

gathering size or capacity limitations (including dining area closures or other 

operational restrictions) imposed by the Oregon Health Authority. 

B. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, employers operating 

such facilities must do the following: 

1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees and visitors 

with symptoms to stay home and telling them whom to contact if they need 

assistance; 

2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing; 

3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, or face shield requirements; 

and 

4. For drive-through operations, post signs at the drive-through entrance 

advising customers to wear masks, face shields, or face coverings when 

interacting with employees during any transactions and delivery of product 

(beyond such required posting, employers need not take additional steps to 

enforce requirements that customers wear masks, face coverings, or face 

shields while using the drive-through). 
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Appendix A-2: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for Retail Stores 

Application: This appendix applies to retail stores, including all stores where 

customers enter to purchase items. To the degree this appendix provides 

specific guidance, it supplements, but does not replace, the requirements of the 

Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744). 

 Note: This appendix is consistent with existing Oregon Health Authority statewide guidance as it 

relates to the protection of workers in such establishments. However, Oregon Health Authority 

guidance may also contain public health provisions that are not reflected by this document. 

Employers engaged in such activity need to be aware of and comply with those public health 

requirements as well as with this appendix. 

A. Physical Distancing Measures. As part of the requirement to ensure that 

workers can maintain appropriate physical distancing, as described in OAR 437-

001-0744(3)(a), employers operating retail stores must determine maximum 

occupancy and thereby limit the number of customers in the retail store as 

necessary to allow workers to maintain such distancing. 

B. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, employers operating 

retail stores must do the following: 

1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees and visitors 

with symptoms to stay home and telling them whom to contact if they need 

assistance; 

2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing; and 

3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, or face shield requirements. 
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Appendix A-3: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for Personal Services Providers 

Application: This appendix applies to employers operating barber shops, hair 

salons, esthetician practices, medical spas, facial spas and day spas, non-medical 

massage therapy services, nail salons, tanning salons, and tattoo/piercing 

parlors. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes 

the requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-

001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of 

this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 

 Note: This appendix is consistent with existing Oregon Health Authority statewide guidance as it 

relates to the protection of workers in such establishments. However, Oregon Health Authority 

guidance may also contain public health provisions that are not reflected by this document. 

Employers engaged in such activity need to be aware of and comply with those public health 

requirements as well as with this appendix. 

A. General Operations – Advance Screening. Employers of personal services 

providers must screen employees and those visiting the establishment for 

COVID-19 exposures or symptoms and reschedule the appointment if the 

screening indicates a heightened risk of exposure.  

B. Physical Distancing Measures. As part of the requirement to ensure that 

workers can maintain appropriate physical distancing, as described in OAR 437-

001-0744(3)(a), employers of personal service providers must take the following 

specific steps: 

1. Determine maximum occupancy and thereby limit the number of customers 

in the retail store as necessary to allow workers to maintain such distancing;  

2. Limit visits to scheduled appointments when possible; and  

3. Ensure that providers minimize face-to-face contact within six feet of clients 

to those situations where it is necessary. 

C. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission 

from potentially infected individuals, employers of personal services providers 

must implement the requirements of OAR 437-001-0744(3)(b), except as 

otherwise provided by this appendix. 

1. Allow clients to remove the face covering when appropriate to or necessary 

for certain services; for example, a client does not need to wear a face 

covering when face-down on a massage table. And some services, such as 

mustache or beard trims, may require the cloth, paper or disposable face 

covering to be temporarily removed; and 
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2. Allow employees to wear medical grade masks if they choose to do so when 

providing services. 

D. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, employers of 

personal services providers must do the following: 

1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees and visitors 

with symptoms to stay home and telling them whom to contact if they need 

assistance; 

2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing; and 

3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, or face shield requirements. 
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Appendix A-4: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for Construction Operations 

Application: This appendix applies to employers engaged in construction activities. 

To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supplements, but does 

not replace, the requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks 

(OAR 437-001-0744). 

 Note: This appendix is consistent with existing Oregon Health Authority statewide guidance as it 

relates to the protection of workers in such establishments. However, Oregon Health Authority 

guidance may also contain public health provisions that are not reflected by this document. 

Employers engaged in such activity need to be aware of and comply with those public health 

requirements as well as with this appendix. 

A. Physical Distancing Measures. As part of the requirement to ensure that 

workers can maintain appropriate physical distancing, as described in OAR 437-

001-0744(3)(a), construction employers must take the following specific steps: 

1. Ensure that the work is planned as necessary to allow workers to maintain 

appropriate physical distancing; 

2. Limit work in occupied areas of a home or other structure to only those tasks 

that are strictly necessary; and 

3. When it is not practical to maintain a physical distance of at least six feet, 

ensure that workers remain separated to the largest degree practical and that 

the duration of such activity is kept as short as possible. 
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Appendix A-5: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for Transit Agencies 

Application: This appendix applies to public transit agencies and providers 

statewide. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it 

supplements, but does not replace, the requirements of the Rule Addressing 

COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744). 

 Note: This appendix is consistent with existing Oregon Health Authority statewide guidance as it 

relates to the protection of workers in such establishments. However, Oregon Health Authority 

guidance may also contain public health provisions that are not reflected by this document. 

Employers engaged in such activity need to be aware of and comply with those public health 

requirements as well as with this appendix.  

A. Physical Distancing Measures. As part of the requirement to ensure that 

workers can maintain appropriate physical distancing, as described in OAR 437-

001-0744(3)(a), transit agencies must take the following specific steps: 

1. Require at least six feet of physical distance between the driver and 

passengers (except during boarding and when assisting those with mobility 

devices), cordoning off seats as necessary to reinforce this requirement; 

2. Use physical partitions or visual cues (for example, floor decals, colored tape, 

or signs) to discourage passengers from standing or sitting within six feet of 

drivers and other transit employees on the bus or train; 

3. Determine and post maximum occupancy for each bus; and 

4. For rail systems, make verbal announcements about maximum occupancy 

before and after each stop. 

B. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission 

from potentially infected individuals, employers of transit agencies must 

implement the requirements of OAR 437-001-0744(3)(b), except that transit 

employers must also ensure that any employees exposed to individuals without 

facial coverings are provided appropriate NIOSH-approved respiratory protection 

(including N95 respirators or better) in accordance with the rule.  

C. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, transit agencies 

must do the following: 

1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees and visitors 

with symptoms to stay home and telling them whom to contact if they need 

assistance; 

2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing; and 
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3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, or face shield requirements; 

and 

4. For rail systems, post maximum occupancy for each train car using clear, 

prominently placed signs. 

 Note: Transit agencies are encouraged, but not required, to use signs at high-traffic stops to 

encourage physical distancing while riders are waiting for a bus or train. 
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Appendix A-6: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for Professional, Division 1, Pac-

12, West Coast Conference and Big Sky Conference Sports 

Application: This appendix applies to professional and Division 1, Pac-12, West 

Coast Conference and Big Sky Conference sports practice, training and play for 

specified sports statewide. Professional and Pac-12 conference athletes and 

teams based outside of Oregon that travel to Oregon for play must follow the 

guidance laid out in this document.  

General Operations. Professional and Pac-12 sports teams wishing to play in the 

State of Oregon must submit protocols to Oregon Health Authority (OHA) and the 

Governor’s office to ensure training, competition and play is in alignment with all 

public and workplace health guidance and county phase requirements. Training, 

competition and play cannot resume until protocols are reviewed and approved 

by OHA and the Governor’s office. 

 To the degree such protocols have been approved and address the issues 

covered by the Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744), 

those protocols will represent compliance with the provisions of this rule. 
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Appendix A-7: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for Employers Operating Fitness-

Related Organizations 

Application: This appendix applies to fitness-related organizations including but not 

limited to gyms, fitness centers, personal training, dance studios, and martial 

arts centers. To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it 

supplements, but does not replace, the requirements of the Rule Addressing 

COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744). 

 Note: This appendix is consistent with existing Oregon Health Authority statewide guidance as it 

relates to the protection of workers in such establishments. However, Oregon Health Authority 

guidance may also contain public health provisions that are not reflected by this document. 

Employers engaged in such activity need to be aware of and comply with those public health 

requirements as well as with this appendix. 

A. Physical Distancing Measures. In addition to ensuring that workers can 

maintain appropriate physical distancing, as described in OAR 437-001-

0744(3)(a), employers operating such facilities must abide by any applicable 

gathering size or capacity limitations imposed by the Oregon Health Authority. 

B. Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, such employers 

must do the following: 

1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees and visitors 

with symptoms to stay home and telling them whom to contact if they need 

assistance; 

2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing; and 

3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, or face shield requirements. 
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Appendix A-8: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for K-12 Educational Institutions 

(Public or Private) 

Application: This appendix applies to employers who operate schools or other 

educational institutions for children from kindergarten through the 12th grade 

(or any portion thereof). To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, 

it supersedes the requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace 

Risks (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the 

specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply.  

 Note: This appendix is consistent with existing Oregon Health Authority and Oregon Department 

of Education (ODE) statewide guidance. However, Ready Schools, Safe Learners also contains 

public health provisions that are not reflected by this document. Employers engaged in such 

activity need to be aware of and comply with those public health requirements as well as with this 

appendix.  

(A) Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission 

from potentially infected individuals, K-12 educational institutions must 

implement the requirements of OAR 437-001-0744(3)(b), except that children 

may remove face coverings as provided for by Ready Schools, Safe Learners 

guidance from ODE and OHA. 

(B) Signage. To reinforce the need to minimize COVID-19 risks, K-12 educational 

institutions must do the following: 

1. Post clear signs listing COVID-19 symptoms, asking employees, volunteers, 

students, and other visitors with symptoms to stay home and telling them 

whom to contact if they need assistance; 

2. Use clear signs to encourage physical distancing; and 

3. Post clear signs about the mask, face covering, or face shield requirements. 

 

https://www.oregon.gov/ode/students-and-family/healthsafety/Pages/RSSL-Guidance.aspx
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Appendix A-9: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for Employers Operating Child 

Care and Early Education Programs 

Application: This appendix applies to employers who operate any of the following 

types of child care and early education programs: 

✓ All licensed programs, including Certified Center (CC), Certified Family (CF), 

and Registered Family (RF). 

✓ All child care and preschool provided in public school settings. 

✓ All Recorded Programs, including school-age. 

✓ Oregon Pre-Kindergarten (Prenatal to Kindergarten), Preschool Promise, and 

Baby Promise. 

✓ Oregon Relief Nurseries. 

✓ Early Intervention and Early Childhood Special Education (EI/ECSE) provided in 

a child care or early education setting. 

 To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the 

requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-

0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of this 

appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 

 Note: This appendix is consistent with existing Oregon Health Authority and Oregon Department 

of Education Early Learning Division statewide guidance as it relates to the protection of workers 

in such establishments. However, Health & Safety Guidelines for Child Care and Early Education 

Operating During COVID-19 also contains public health provisions that are not reflected by this 

document. Employers engaged in such activity need to be aware of and comply with those public 

health requirements as well as with this appendix.  

A. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission 

from potentially infected individuals, employers of child care providers must 

implement the requirements of OAR 437-001-0744(3)(b), except as otherwise 

provided by this appendix.  

1. If a child removes a mask, face covering or face shield, or demonstrates a 

need to remove the mask, face covering or face shield for a short-period of 

time, staff must supervise the child to maintain six feet or more of physical 

distancing from all adults and children while the mask, face covering or face 

shield is removed. If needed, show the child how to effectively wear a mask, 

face covering or face shield. Guide the child to re-engage in safely wearing a 

mask, face covering, or face shield. Children should not be disciplined for 

their inability to safely wear a mask, face covering, or face shield; 

https://oregonearlylearning.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Health-and-Safety-Guidelines_August-14-2020_English_Web-2.pdf
https://oregonearlylearning.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Health-and-Safety-Guidelines_August-14-2020_English_Web-2.pdf
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2. Allow children in grades Kindergarten and up to not wear a mask, face 

covering, or face shield: 

✓ If they have a medical condition that makes it difficult for them to breathe 

with a mask, face covering, or face shield as documented by their doctor’s 

order. 

✓ If they experience a disability that prevents them from wearing a mask, 

face covering, or face shield, as documented by their doctor’s order. 

✓ If they are unable to remove the mask, face covering, or face shield 

independently. 

✓ While sleeping. 
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Appendix A-10: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for Veterinary Care 

Application: This appendix applies to veterinarians licensed under ORS 686, and to 

their assistants and other employees. To the degree this appendix provides 

specific guidance, it supplements, but does not replace, the requirements of the 

Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744). 

 Note: This appendix is consistent with existing Oregon Health Authority statewide guidance as it 

relates to the protection of workers in such establishments. However, Oregon Health Authority 

guidance may also contain public health provisions that are not reflected by this document. 

Employers engaged in such activity need to be aware of and comply with those public health 

requirements as well as with this appendix.  

A. Physical Distancing Measures. As part of the requirement to ensure that 

workers can maintain appropriate physical distancing, as described in OAR 437-

001-0744(3)(a), veterinary employers must also take the following specific steps: 

1. Adopt a curbside model, bringing the animal patient into the facility while the 

owner remains in the vehicle, strictly enforce six-foot physical distancing in 

the waiting area, or employ a combination of the two. 

2. Do not allow owners or caretakers into the facility exam room without 

appropriate source control and only when visit involves one of the following: 

a. Euthanasia; 

b. Receiving instruction as to providing home care for pets including, but 

not limited to, giving medication, providing fluids, or managing feeding 

tubes or catheters; or 

c. Veterinary workers are examining or treating animals that may pose a 

threat to the veterinary worker. 

3. Limit situations where any veterinarian workers are within six feet of other 

individuals to those necessary to safely handle and treat the animal patient. 

B. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields and Personal Protective Equipment. 

To reduce the risk of transmission from potentially infected individuals, 

veterinary employers must implement the requirements of OAR 437-001-

0744(3)(b). In addition, veterinary employers must provide and ensure the use of 

personal protective equipment in accordance with the table at the end of this 

appendix. 
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Reproduced from “Interim Infection Prevention and Control Guidance for Veterinary 

Clinics Treating Companion Animals During the COVID-19 Response,” published by 

the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (last updated August 

12, 2020) 

Animal History Mask 

Eye 

Protection 

(face 

shield or 

goggles) 

Gloves 
Gown or 

Coveralls 

N95 

respirator 

or 

suitable 

alternative 

Healthy companion animal 

without exposure to a person with 

COVID-19 compatible symptoms 

No No No No No 

Companion animal with an illness 

that is not suspicious of SARS-

CoV-2 infection AND without 

exposure to a person with COVID-

19 compatible symptoms 

No No No No No 

Companion animal that is not 

suspicious for SARS-CoV-2 

infection BUT has exposure to a 

person with COVID-19 compatible 

symptoms 

Yes No Yes No No 

Companion animal with an illness 

that is suspicious for SARS-CoV-2 

infection 

Yes Yes Yes Yes No 

Aerosol-generating procedure for 

any animal without an exposure 

to a person with COVID-19 

compatible symptoms 

Yes Yes Yes Yes No 

Aerosol-generating procedure for 

any animal with an exposure to a 

person with COVID-19 compatible 

symptoms 

No Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Any procedure on an animal that 

is known to be currently infected 

with SARS-CoV-2 through 

detection by a validated RT-PCR 

assay 

No Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Any procedure where a person 

with known or suspected of being 

infected with COVID-19 will be 

present 

No Yes Yes Yes Yes 

 
 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/veterinarians.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/veterinarians.html
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Appendix A-11: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for Emergency Medical Services: 

First Responders, Firefighters, Emergency Medical Services and Non-Emergency 

Medical Transport 

Application: This appendix applies to first responders, firefighters, emergency 

medical services, and non-emergency medical transport employers. It also 

provides direction specific to Emergency Communication Centers. To the degree 

this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the requirements of the 

Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a 

situation is not addressed by the specific language of this appendix, the 

requirements of the rule apply. 

  Note: Although this appendix is based upon the workplace health portions of Quarantine 

Guidance for Fire and EMS Responders and Information Bulletin 2020-02 on Personal Protective 

Equipment Advisory, published by the Office of the Oregon State Fire Marshal, it does not 

address many other issues included in that document. Employers of first responders, firefighters, 

EMS, and non-emergency medical transport should therefore be familiar with that guidance as 

well. 

Definitions. For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply: 

Emergency Communication Centers means 911 Public Safety Answering 

Points/Emergence Communication Centers (PSAP/ECCs) 

Emergency Medical Services Provider (EMS Provider) means a person who has 

received formal training in prehospital and emergency care, and is licensed to 

attend to any person who is ill or injured or who has a disability. Police 

officers, fire fighters, funeral home employees and other persons serving in a 

dual capacity, one of which meets the definition of "emergency medical 

services provider" are "emergency medical services providers" within the 

meaning of ORS chapter 682. 

Fire Department means public and private employers who engage in structural 

fire service activities, including emergency first response, who are covered 

under OAR 437-002-0182. 

A. General Operations Screening, Isolation and Quarantine. In order to reduce 

the risks of outbreaks within the workplace and the broader community, EMS 

employers must take the following steps: 

1. Instruct employees to self-monitor for symptoms consistent with COVID-19; 

2. Screen employees for fever and symptoms prior to each shift, excluding them 

from the workplace as appropriate based on guidance from the Oregon 

Health Authority; and 

https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/2020-02InformationBulletinPPEAdvisory.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/2020-02InformationBulletinPPEAdvisory.pdf
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3. Exclude any employees from the workplace if they test positive via a COVID-19 

diagnostic test. 

 Note: Quarantine Guidance for Fire and EMS Responders provides detailed information on 

monitoring, quarantine, isolation, and subsequent return to work. 

B. General Operations – Emergency Communication Centers. Emergency 

Communication Centers (ECC) must comply with the provisions of the rule, with 

the following specific provisions and exceptions: 

1. To the degree work stations cannot be separated by at least six feet, 

supplemental measures such as shields or barriers must be considered and 

installed, if feasible; 

2. Whether shields or barriers have been installed, ECC communications 

personnel are not required to wear face coverings while handling emergency 

calls, but must be allowed to do so at their discretion; 

3. PSAPs should implement an EIDS or screen for fever, cough, difficulty 

breathing, and diarrhea for ALL calls, when feasible, if local triggers 

determined by the PSAP director have been met. Additionally, PSAPs should 

ask: 

✓ Is anyone in the call location a known or suspected COVID-positive 

individual undergoing either quarantine or isolation? 

✓ Is the call location a long-term care facility known to have COVID-19 cases? 

4. The query process should never supersede the provision of pre-arrival 

instructions to the caller when immediate lifesaving interventions (for 

example, CPR) are indicated. 

5. If the patient meets the above criteria, then PSAPs should: 

a. Provide medical care per protocol. 

b. Alert responding agencies of the possibility of a respiratory pathogen as 

soon as possible. 

c. Follow LPHA policies for reporting and follow up of healthcare workers with 

contact to suspected cases. 

d. For ill travelers at US international airports or other ports of entry to the 

United States (maritime ports or border crossings) should be in contact 

with the CDC quarantine station of jurisdiction for the port of entry CDC 

Quarantine Station Contact List for planning guidance. 

6. If the patient does not meet criteria, discontinue questioning and follow 

appropriate case entry. 

https://www.oregon.gov/osp/Docs/QuarantineGuidanceforFireandEMSRespondersMarch2020.pdf
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7. If call volumes increase to the point that screening is interfering with the 

timely processing of calls, consider suspending EIDS screening. 

C. General Operations – Fire Departments and Ambulance Agencies. Fire 

Departments and Ambulance Agencies must comply with the provisions of the 

rule, with the following specific provisions and exceptions: 

1. Spacing requirements do not need to be followed on any Agency apparatus 

when responding to or returning from a call, although respiratory protection 

must be worn as necessary; 

2. To the degree six-foot distancing cannot be reliably maintained in common 

living areas in a fire station or ambulance agency facility, the personnel 

residing there are not required to wear masks, face coverings or face shields 

(this exception applies only to shared living areas; it does not apply to break 

rooms, shared toilet facilities, or other common areas used by other 

employees or individuals other than those residing in the living areas). 

Although facial coverings are not required in such living areas, personnel 

should be encouraged to use them whenever not sleeping, eating, or drinking 

to reduce the risk of transmitting COVID-19 between employees. 

3. The driver of an emergency response vehicle may adjust or remove a mask or 

face covering that impedes their vision or otherwise detracts from the safe 

operation of the vehicle. 

D. Personal Protective Equipment, Masks, Face Coverings, Face Shields. EMS 

providers must apply the following procedures when engaged in emergency 

medical services or other patient care on all calls: 

1. All patients are initially assessed from a distance of six feet to reduce 

potential for exposure of workers to COVID-19 or other infectious illness. 

There will be situations in which this option will be automatically excluded by 

the acuity of the call; 

2. Patients and family members must be asked to wear their own mask, face 

covering, or face shield (if tolerated) prior to the arrival of EMS personnel and 

throughout the duration of the encounter, including during transport. If they 

do not have a mask or face covering, they should be offered a mask or face 

covering, as supplies allow. Bystanders and family will be asked to maintain 

the minimum of six-foot physical separation from EMS workers; 

3. Masks or face coverings should not be placed on: children under the age of 

two-years old, anyone who has trouble breathing, or anyone who is 

unconscious, incapacitated or otherwise unable to remove the mask or face 

covering without assistance; 
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4. When circumstances permit, only one provider will directly assess the patient; 

5. If circumstances allow, interview the patient outside the residence in open air; 

6. The interview should be done from the maximal distance that still allows for 

clear communication; 

8. Avoid standing directly in front of the patient; 

9. If a nasal cannula is used, a mask should (ideally) be worn over the cannula. 

Alternatively, an oxygen mask can be used if clinically indicated. If the patient 

requires intubation, see below for additional precautions for aerosol-

generating procedures; 

10. Masks or respirators must be worn by EMS providers while they are engaged in 

emergency medical services or other patient care. Face coverings must not be 

used as a substitute for a mask or respirator when respiratory protection 

(droplet precautions for a mask, airborne precautions for a respirator) is 

required; 

11. During direct patient care in the EMS setting, use of respirators without 

exhalation valves is preferred but not required; and 

12. When dealing with an individual known or suspected of being infected with 

COVID-19, EMS providers must wear a NIOSH-approved N95 or equivalent or a 

higher-level respirator, a gown, gloves, and eye protection (face shield or 

goggles). 

 Note: The use of respirators must comply with the Respiratory Protection standard (29 CFR 

1910.134).  

E. Special Provisions for the Transport of Patients (Emergency and Non-

Emergency) with Suspected or Confirmed COVID-19. For any patient meeting any 

of following criteria: 

• Symptoms of lower respiratory infection, such as fever, cough, or shortness 

of breath; 

• Recent contact with someone with known COVID-19; or 

• Call location is a long-term care facility known to have COVID-19 cases. 

 EMS providers must apply the following procedures when engaging in 

transporting, whether emergency or non-emergency: 

1. Involve the fewest EMS personnel required to minimize possible exposures; 

others riding in the ambulance must be limited to those essential for the 

patient’s physical or emotional well-being or care (for example, care partner or 

parent); 
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2. Ensure that the patient is masked. The patient mask must not have an 

exhalation valve, as it would allow unfiltered, exhaled breath to escape; 

3. Provide medical care per protocol; 

4. Ensure that personnel use contact, droplet, and airborne precautions, as 

follows: 

a. Wear a single pair of disposable patient examination gloves. 

b. Wear disposable isolation gown. If there are shortages of gowns, they 

should be prioritized for aerosol-generating procedures, and care 

activities where splashes and sprays are anticipated. 

c. Use respiratory protection (an N-95 or higher-level respirator). If 

respirator supplies have been depleted, facemasks are an acceptable 

alternative. Respirators should be prioritized for procedures that are likely 

to generate respiratory aerosols. 

d. Wear eye protection (goggles or a disposable face shield that fully covers 

the front and sides of the face). 

5. Use caution with aerosol-generating procedures and ventilate ambulance if 

possible; 

6. Notify the receiving hospital (according to local protocols) of potential 

infection as soon as possible; 

7. Disinfect using EPA registered Disinfectants for Use Against SARS-CoV-2; and 

8. Drivers, if they provide direct patient care (for example, moving patients onto 

stretchers), must wear the PPE listed above. 

a. After completing patient care and before entering an isolated driver’s 

compartment, the driver must remove and dispose of PPE and perform 

hand hygiene to avoid soiling the compartment. 

b. If the transport vehicle does not have an isolated driver’s compartment, 

the driver must remove the face shield or goggles, gown, and gloves and 

perform hand hygiene, but continue to wear a respirator, mask, or face 

covering during transport. 

Patients who do not meet the criteria listed above can be cared for using standard 

precautions, with use of transmission-based precautions determined by clinical 

presentation. 
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Appendix A-12: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for Law Enforcement Activities 

Application: This appendix applies to the activities of law enforcement officers in 

the performance of their duties. To the degree this appendix provides specific 

guidance, it supersedes the requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 

Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by 

the specific language of this appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 

Definitions. For purposes of this appendix, the following definitions apply: 

Law enforcement agency means the Oregon State Police, a county sheriff’s 

office, a municipal police department, a police department established by a 

university under ORS 352.121 or 353.125, or an agency that employs one or 

more parole and probation officers as defined in ORS 181A.355. 

Law enforcement officer means a member of the Oregon State Police, a sheriff 

or deputy sheriff, a municipal police officer, an authorized police officer of a 

police department established by a university under ORS 352.121 or 

353.125, or a parole or probation officer as defined in ORS 181A.355. 

A. Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, law 

enforcement agencies must implement appropriate physical distancing as 

required OAR 437-001-0744(3)(a) in locations under their control and must do so 

to the extent their duties allow in other locations. However, based on the nature 

of the law enforcement officer’s duties, the physical distancing requirements of 

the rule do not apply to emergency situations or other situations where the 

safety of law enforcement officers or others involved make contact within six feet 

necessary. 

B. Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission 

from potentially infected individuals, law enforcement agencies must require 

masks, face coverings, or face shields in spaces under their control and when 

employees interact with other individuals, as required by OAR 437-001-

0744(3)(b). However, the following specific modifications apply to certain law 

enforcement activities: 

1. Law enforcement agencies must ensure that all employees, visitors, and 

persons in custody wear a mask, face covering, or face shield as required in 

this rule unless enforcing this requirement would require the use of physical 

force or place an employee or member of the public at greater risk of COVID-

19 exposure; 
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2. Law enforcement agencies must provide masks and face shield to law 

enforcement officers to wear in combination in situations when a person in 

custody refuses to wear a face covering; 

3. Law enforcement officers are permitted adjust or remove the face mask, face 

covering, or face shield while interviewing a member of the public when 

necessary to establish sufficient rapport with the interviewee; 

4. Law enforcement officers driving during an emergency response or pursuit 

may adjust or remove a mask, face covering, or face shield that impedes their 

vision or distracts from the safe operation of the vehicle; 

5. Law enforcement officers are permitted to remove their mask, face covering, 

or face shield when the officer’s ability to clearly communicate is impaired by 

the mask, face covering, or face shield; and 

6. Law enforcement employees transporting a person in custody or a member of 

the public must ensure that that person wears a mask, face covering, or face 

shield unless compliance would require the use of force or place law 

enforcement employees or a member of the public at greater risk for COVID-

19 exposure or physical jeopardy. 
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Appendix A-13: Mandatory Workplace Guidance for Jails, Prisons, and Other 

Custodial Institutions 

Application: This appendix applies to jails, prisons, and other custodial institutions. 

To the degree this appendix provides specific guidance, it supersedes the 

requirements of the Rule Addressing COVID-19 Workplace Risks (OAR 437-001-

0744); to the degree a situation is not addressed by the specific language of this 

appendix, the requirements of the rule apply. 

(A) Physical Distancing Measures. To ensure appropriate physical distancing, 

correctional facilities must implement appropriate physical distancing as 

required as required by OAR 437-001-0744(3)(a) in locations under their control 

and must do so to the extent their duties allow in other locations. However, 

based on the nature of correctional duties, the physical distancing requirements 

of the rule do not apply to emergency situations or other situations where the 

safety of involved individuals make closer contact necessary.  

(B) Masks, Face Coverings, and Face Shields. To reduce the risk of transmission 

from potentially infected individuals, jails, prisons, and other custodial 

institutions must require masks, face coverings or face shields within the 

premises. However, the following specific modifications to the requirements to 

OAR 437-001-0744(3)(b) apply within the secure perimeter of the jail, prison, or 

other custodial institution: 

1. Jails, prisons, and other custodial institutions must require all person 

entering the secure perimeter of the jail to wear a mask, face shield, or face 

covering when within six feet of other individuals, if there are no physical 

barriers between them, with the following exceptions: 

✓ During scheduled mealtimes when eating or drinking; 

✓ If a physical or mental condition or disability limits the ability to wear a 

mask, face covering, or face shield; 

✓ When an order from the Oregon Judicial Department, presiding judge, or 

local health authority provides an exception to the wearing of masks, face 

coverings or face shields; 

✓ In a housing unit where all adults in custody have been in quarantine for a 

minimum period of time established by the local health authority after 

considering CDC and OHA guidelines, provided that all staff members 

wear a mask or face covering at all times while in the unit; 
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✓ In youth correctional facility common areas when all youth in custody 

have been in quarantine for a minimum period of time established by the 

Oregon Health Authority, provided that all non-youth-in-custody 

individuals wear a face covering and the Oregon Health Authority has 

authorized such practice; or 

✓ During an emergency, such as when responding to a spontaneous use of 

force event, a medical emergency, or a suicide attempt in a housing unit. 

2. The jail, prison, or other custodial institution must not charge individuals in 

custody for masks, face coverings or face shields, except in the case of 

knowing damage or destruction to the mask, face covering, or face shield in 

violation of institution rules. 

3. The jail, prison, or other custodial institution must not charge employees for 

masks, face coverings or face shields. 

4. Custodial institution employees transporting a person in custody or a 

member of the public must ensure that that person wears a mask, face 

covering, or face shield unless compliance would require the use of force or 

place law enforcement employees or a member of the public at greater risk 

for COVID-19 exposure or physical jeopardy. 

C Meal Times. To allow for eating and drinking without a facial covering, provide 

adults in custody meals in their cell if possible. If in-cell meals are not possible, 

use appropriate physical distancing for mealtimes within the constraints of the 

facility. 

 


